

Rick Hogaboam, Director of Constituent Services 1115 Albany Street • Caldwell, Idaho 83605 Phone: (208) 614-5011 Email: <u>rick.hogaboam@canyoncounty.id.gov</u>

- TO: Board of County Commissioners
- **FROM:** Rick Hogaboam
- DATE: November 16, 2023
- **SUBJECT:** Impact Fee Advisory Committee reboot and projected timeline

## **Background Summary:**

- Canyon County Resolution 19-182 established a Canyon County Development Impact Fee Advisory Committee on 12/12/2019, confirming the appointment of the following individuals to unspecified terms:
  - 1. Alan Mills (active in the business of development, building, or real estate)
  - 2. Spencer Kofoed (active in the business of development, building or real estate)
  - 3. John Carpenter (active in the business of development, building or real estate)
  - 4. Jon Stosich (active in the business of development, building or real estate)
  - 5. Tom Points
  - 6. Brent Orton
  - 7. Trevor Chadwick
  - 8. Dave Jones
  - 9. Bruce Bayne

## **Reason for Action:**

- The Idaho Legislature has made statutory updates subsequent to the 2019 appointments that specifically requires that all members reside in the service area, that no members be employees or officials of governing agencies functioning in their capacity, and that while a minimum of two members (of a minimum total of five members) be required to be in the business of development, at least two members would also not be in the business of development (Idaho Code 67-8205).
- In light of new statutory requirements and the constitution of the committee including members who reside outside the service area and/or who function as employees or officials for governmental agencies, it's advised that new appointments should take place that meets statutory compliance.

## Funding/Project Costs:

None

## **Director Recommendation:**

- 1. Establish the preferred number of committee numbers, no less than five to meet statutory compliance. A recommendation of five, seven, or nine.
- 2. Establish in future resolution and/or code the preferred number to be on the committee and assign terms to each seat of two to four years each to allow for staggering. All terms would be four years after the initial terms.
- Post a press release and social media outreach soliciting applicants (see attached application draft). Receive applications through December 31. (Notify existing, qualified members of an opportunity to apply for consideration.)
- 4. Review all applications after the deadline with a selection advisory committee that would include the following seven individuals: Rick Hogaboam, Kieran Donahue (or designee from Sheriff's Office), Coroner (or designee from Coroner's Office), Michael Stowell (or designee from CC Ambulance District), Nichole Schwend (or designee from parks department), Greg Rast, Sabrina Minshall (or designee from Development Services Department). The impact fee administrator would facilitate review and possible interviews in order to provide a letter of recommendation to the BOCC for their respective recommendations to the Impact Fee Advisory Committee.
- 5. BOCC would entertain a resolution to appoint members to the committee.
  - Projected: February 2024.
- 6. Convene an onboarding meeting of the committee to review existing intergovernmental agreements and provide recommendations to the BOCC.
  - Projected: February-March 2024.
- 7. Convene DIFAC for initial review of Capital Improvement Plan.
  - Projected: March-April 2024.
- 8. Convene DIFAC for review of methodology and recommendation of impact fees to BOCC.
  - Projected: April-May 2024.
- 9. Present recommendations to the BOCC.
  - Projected: May 2024.